Conley Wins Prestigious Transportation Road Hand Award

Hays County Commissioner honored for excellent service to transportation

Corridor staff

Hays County Commissioner Will Conley received the Texas Department of Transportation Road Hand award during the commissioner’s court meeting held today in San Marcos. This honor is a TxDOT tradition to acknowledge those who have made improvements to transportation in their communities.

Texas’ transportation system is vital to economic development and tourism—one of the state’s largest industries. Maintaining and improving this system wouldn’t be possible without the dedication and hard work of citizens across the state.

Commissioner Conley has been a major player in planning viable transportation projects in the region. He has made a difference by serving as chairman on both the Capitol Area Regional Transportation Planning Organization and the Capital Area Metropolitan Planning Organization, as well as through his work in Hays County to make safety improvements to roadways and establish transportation plans to prevent future traffic congestion.

“Commissioner Conley, along with other leaders in Hays County, faces the challenge of planning transportation in one of the fastest-growing counties in the state,” said Greg Malatek, Austin District Engineer. “He has devoted time and effort to improving TxDOT and the way the agency does business. His enthusiasm, leadership, and dedicated public service are invaluable and appreciated.”

The Road Hand Award was created in 1973 by former State Highway Engineer Luther DeBerry. He recognized that TxDOT owes a great deal to its many friends and supporters for their efforts to make the Texas highway program the best in the world. The award is the highest tribute to citizens who freely give their time, energy, and vision to champion transportation projects in Texas.

“I’m very appreciative of this honor,” said Hays County Precinct 3 Commissioner Will Conley. “Our dedicated Commissioners Court, employees, TxDOT partners, and citizens who work tirelessly to improve our transportation infrastructure share in this award.”

Award recipient names are inscribed on the Road Hand Hall of Honor plaque which hangs prominently in the foyer of the historic Dewitt C. Greer Highway Building in Austin. Including this year’s five recipients, 247 people have been named Road Hands since 1973.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button