Unofficial 2022 Republican Primary election results: Texans to vote on Republican Attorney General in runoff election

Unofficial 2022 Republican Primary election results

Sierra Martin | Managing Editor

HAYS COUNTY — The 2022 Republican Primary election wrapped up on March 1, and the unofficial results have been released. Voters have selected several candidates to be on the November 2022 election ballot, while others will be seen again for the runoff election. In Hays County, only 8.2% of registered voters showed up to the polls. 

Locally, Republican Mike Gonzalez won his position on the November 2022 ballot for County Commissioner of Precinct 2. Incumbent Walt Smith secured the majority vote for County Commissioner of Precinct 4. 

In the race for Hays County Republican Chair, Bob Park won the race in the Primary election. Justice of the Peace for Precinct 5 was won by Karen Marshall with 62.47% of the vote. 

In the November 2022 election, incumbent Greg Abbott will face democratic candidate Beto O’Rourke in the race for Texas Governor after receiving over 66% of the vote in the Primary election. Incumbent Dan Patrick will be the Lieutenant Governor on the ballot with over 75% of the vote. 

In the race for State Representative, District 73, Carrie Isaac won with 52% of the vote. Donna Campbell won the race for State Senator of District 25 with 74.59% of the vote. Incumbent Evan Young led the race for Supreme Court Justice, Place 9 with almost 55% of the vote. Incumbent Scott Walker won 56.7% of the vote for Court of Criminal Appeals Place 5. And incumbent Chip Roy won 83% of the vote over other candidates for U.S. Representative of District 21.

The republican candidates for Attorney General will face off in the runoff election, with incumbent Ken Paxton receiving just over 42% with the majority vote. 

Voters will have the opportunity to cast their ballot in the runoff election for District Judge for the 207th Judicial District, where Mark E. Cusack lead with 40% of the vote. Other races that will appear in the runoff elections include Texas Commissioner of the General Land Office, Railroad Commissioner, U.S. Representative of District 35 and State Representative of District 73.

All ten propositions on the Republican Primary ballot passed. 

The run-off election for the March 1 Primaries will be held on March 24, 2022. 

Full reports of the 2022 Republican Primary Election unofficial results can be found below.

Hays County Republican 2022 Primary results



Texas 2022 Republican Primary Results (Updated March 2, 9:57 PM)

REP 9-57::Texas Election Night Results::

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button