Wimberley High School Academic, Speech & Debate, One-Act-Play Win 28-AAAA Sweepstakes Handily

Wimberley, Texas, April 5, 2019—Dozens of Wimberley High School students have been competing in University Interscholastic League academic, speech and debate events and one – act – play since January, culminating in the District 28 – AAAA Sweepstakes Championship in Bandera on March 30.

Nineteen WHS students qualified for Region Competition in Corpus Christi on April 12 and April 13, in a total of 31 events, with several students qualifying in multiple events. 

“Since we changed districts this year, we had much harder competition than we had in past years. However, we were all able to step up our game and win sweepstakes, along with a lot of people advancing to regionals,” said Julia Love, WHS Senior.

Maya Lewis and Jasmine Cante got everything started in January when they placed 4th in Cross – Examination Debate. Then WHS gained more points when the cast of The Miracle Worker advanced out of District, followed by a stellar performance by the journalism and the Lincoln Douglas debate teams. In this final leg of the district competition, several students helped push WHS over the top with 527 points handily defeating the Boerne competitors, who took 2nd place with 428 points.

“The students worked really hard in preparation for our district meet. We are in a new district this year so we didn’t know what to expect. All the students did a great job and we are expecting to do great again in Corpus Christi,” said Kyla Brookshier, UIL Academic Coordinator.

The placings on March 30 are as follows:

Current Issues and Events – 1st place team: Jake Smorrenburg – 3rd, Jacob Surdy – 4th, Quinton Mendoza – 5th, Thomas Ludwick – 6th   

Number Sense – Ben McLemore – 5th  

Spelling and Vocabulary – 2nd Place Team:

Carson Ramsey – 1st, Donovan McCann – 6th

Science – 2nd Place Team:

Julia Love – 2nd, Ben McLemore – 3rd and Top Physics

Social Studies – 1st Place Team:

Cameron Savage – 1st, Quinton Mendoza – 2nd, and Donovan, McCann – 3rd

Math – 1st Place Team:

Ben McLemore – 1st and Julia Love – 5th

Literary Criticism and Julissa Hernandez – 6th  

Speech and Debate – 2nd Place Team:

Poetry – Logan Brookshier – 1st, Evie Jennings – 3rd, Elysia Becken – 5th

Prose – Sarah Rickert – 3rd, Josie Fosdick – 4th,

Informative – Colten Kilpatrick – 3rd, Alexa Thomson – 4th, Maya Lewis – 5th,

Persuasive – Quinton Mendoza – 1st, Jasmine Cante – 2nd

Julissa Hernandez – 2nd Place Ready Writing

Journalism 1st Place Team:

Copy Editing – Cameron Savage – 3rd, Jillian Garcia – 4th, Hanna Pickens – 5th

 News Writing – Hannah Pickens – 1st, Jillian Garcia – 4th, Jillian Merritt – 5th

 Feature Writing – Jillian Garcia – 1st, Hannah Pickens – 3rd, Donovan McCann – 6th

 Editorial Writing – Jillian Garcia – 1st, Hannah Pickens – 3rd, Josie Fosdick – 5th

 Headline Writing – Jillian Garcia – 1st, Donovan McCann – 2nd 

Lincoln Douglas Debate:

Colten Kilpatrick – 3rd, Isis Akers – 4th, Brenna Trudeau – 5th

[smartslider3 slider=55]


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button